Intimidating the Couponer

Now, I know that this is the second non-scheduled post that I’ve made today, but I wanted to share this little story before it was no longer relevant or cool.

Last night we successfully managed to run off three males trying to hit us with some serious coupon fraud.  We got the call just in time, too, from a sister store informing us of the descriptions of these men.  It would have been almost $1,000 worth of fraud had we not gotten to them in time.

It was quite thrilling, actually.  Being told and then not even a split second later seeing one of them dash into a check lane to try to get out of there as soon as possible.  I immediately went over to the check lane and stood behind my cashier.  I didn’t even try to make it look like I was doing anything other than watching what she was doing or what the man had.  When he saw me, he pulled out his phone and immediately called someone and spoke to him about how he was there and he’d be done soon.

When the cashier was done ringing up all of the items and bagging them, he took his time pulling out the coupons.  And he had them in order.  He actually got mad when she started to lay them out to look at them and make sure they were valid.

“I had those in order.”

Okay, calm down, dude.  We are doing our job and trying to make sure you don’t take us for $300 bucks in one transaction.  I had the cashier go through each and every coupon and check them against each and every item.  He did have two that were valid on some of the items he got, but the rest weren’t.

He was very clearly agitated.  He started telling the cashier and I how to do our jobs.  I looked up at him and said “I know how the process works at this store.”  And he said “Yeah, I used to work for [store].”  I just looked up at him and said, “Good for you.”

Finally, after it was clear that his buddies weren’t successful and I wasn’t going to let him get out of there with the things either, he finally demanded his coupons back then took the bags of items we’d bagged and dumped them all over the girl’s check lane.  All three of them left together so pissed off.  And both of our AP officers, the cashiers involved, myself, and my supervisor laughed and congratulated each other on a job well done.  Then we told our stories of each of the three men we dealt with.  My supervisor nearly got into a fight with the man she dealt with.

Ah, sometimes working in retail is very exciting.

Leave a Reply

