My Baby Is a Person Too!

Sometimes, funny things happen to other cashiers and not to me.

The other day, I was doing my thang at the service desk.  Refunding, and exchanging, and telling people no, and staring at the cart corral.  You know, the usual.  One of my LOD’s calls me over the walkie and asks for the number to our  corporate guest relations.  I gave it to her and didn’t think anything of it other than a guest must have been mad.

As it turns out, there was a woman and her family wanting to use a ton of coupons.  The cashier let her know that it was 4 per household.  The lady argued, so he caved and said that he would allow each of the people with her to do a transaction so that she could use all of her coupons.  He told her it was against the policy, but just for today, he would let it slide.

However, the woman was still not happy.  She wanted her infant child to be counted.

The cashier told her that he wouldn’t allow that because it was a baby.  He was already allowing her to do more transactions than allowed, but she wanted her baby counted as a person, too.

Now, I heard this story second-hand from a co-worker who was there, too.

An LOD got called and the cashier set her things to the side and started to take care of the rest of his guests.  The lady apparently got even more angry that he did this.  She began to yell at him and proclaim that she was “still here!”  He said “I realize that ma’am, someone is coming to speak with you about your issue, but I have other guests, I have to keep my line moving.”

How corrupt do you have to be to expect someone to count an infant in the person-using-a-coupon count?  How desperate to cheat the system do you have to be for that?  Oh, yes, let’s just say your infant child is going to be buying all of these cheap-ass razors.

As my co-worker who told me this story said “It’s one thing if the coupons were for baby formula.  I would let her do that.  But her baby isn’t going to be using this crap she was using the coupons on.”

And it’s true.

He bent the rules way out of whack for this lady and she STILL found something to bitch about in the process.  She wanted to talk to corporate so when our LOD went to talk to her, that’s when she called me.  Corporate won’t do shit for her.  The corporate authorization people hardly do shit for me when I need help trying to process a return.

I just don’t get it.  People these days are so utterly demanding.  You know, policies are in place for a reason and yes, there are times when they need to be put aside to fix a problem, but you can’t have the rules bent for you every single time.  It’s just ridiculous!

If it were me, I never would have allowed her to do multiple transactions like that.  But I’m just mean and cynical. Once I feel like too many people have been allowed to cheat, I feel like I need to do everything in my power to stop them.  I’m trying to police everything.

So, the argument at hand is, yes, your kid is a person, but they’re not an adult, they’re not the one actually making this  purchase, so why should we count this?   I just don’t get it.  We’re so greedy these days.  I find myself consumed with greed a lot, too, but I usually stop myself before I can actually take it further.  These couponers don’t care about saving money, they care about cheating the system and stealing.

That would be like me bringing my cat with me on the highway to try to use the HOV lane.  Uhm, no.  It just doesn’t work that way.

It’s probably a good thing that I wasn’t a cashier that day dealing with that guest.  It would not have ended well.  I probably would have lost my job.  I stopped putting up with that kind of shit after that woman said “fuck you and fuck your store” to me.  Once I’m disrespected, I tend to put up a wall and not take anything else.  You’ve got to be one hell of a special person for me to put up with that.

I’m starting to think I need to get out of this line of work before I become a crotchety old lady at 25.

Leave a Reply

