Surprises

Sometimes things happen that catch us by surprise.

Here I’ve been frustrated with my own job lately.  As easy a job as it is, it is frustrating, and when given in high doses, you can really drive you insane.  Attitudes change not only toward your co-workers but toward your guests as well.  Anxiety runs high even when the workload isn’t very heavy.

I’ve been wanting to quit for a while now.  I’m frustrated at how things have turned out, frustrated at the lack of respect and pay.  Others keep getting pushed into positions that they really didn’t want to begin with.  It’s how these things work, I know, I know.

However, the last few shifts I’ve had, guests have been commenting on how kind, friendly, and personable I am.  It’s caught me off guard greatly.  One woman told me to never lose my personality and it made me remember how happy I used to be to the faces of the people I served.

Slowly I’m trying to get back into the swing of things.  I’m trying to drudge up the girl beneath the angry, sarcastic exterior that is this blog and her job.

But don’t you worry, my pretties, I still have plenty of stories to tell you.

Leave a Reply

